baked salmon with browned butter sauce

Standard

baked salmon with browned butter sauce I frozen pizza, again?

I’ve had this recipe pinned to my food board for 47 weeks, according to Pinterest, and I’m just now getting around to trying it. I’m really glad that I finally did because the flavor was great. The sauce was light and complimented the fish well, and it was super yummy on the rice I served as a side. It is also a really easy recipe that gives big results, which is great for beginners like me. 🙂

baked salmon with browned butter sauce I frozen pizza, again?

Baked Salmon with Browned Butter Sauce
From the kitchen of: Foods of Our Lives

Ingredients
1-1.5 lb salmon filet with skin on (I used 2 smaller filets)
coarse sea salt (I used regular table salt)
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon flour
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup white wine
kosher salt & fresh ground pepper, to taste (I used regular table s&p)
chives (optional)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 450°.

Place the filet skin side down on a roasting pan. (I used a cookie sheet).  Sprinkle with sea salt and place in oven. Bake until it flakes apart with a fork, about 15 minutes.  (If you are using smaller filets like I did, they will probably take less time to bake.  I let mine cook the full 15 mins and they were overdone.)

While the fish is cooking, place the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Melt and cook until the butter browns.  Swirl the pan as it is melting and watch it carefully; it will turn fairly quickly and you don’t want it to scorch.  Aim for a light brown color.

Once the butter turns, add the flour and stir; then quickly add the heavy cream and wine.

Stir the sauce until slightly thickened, and remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

Serve over cooked salmon. Top with a few chives, if desired.

Notes
I used whole milk because I didn’t have any cream. The flavor was still great, but it probably would have been even better had I used cream.

Turn this into a meal by adding a green vegetable and Cheddar Bay Biscuits.

comments!

