fiesta taco skillet

Standard

You may have noticed that I’ve been slacking in posting to the blog the last few weeks. I really have no excuse, just that I haven’t made time for it. But I hope this recipe (and the ones I plan to post very soon) make up for it.

fiesta taco skillet1  I  frozen pizza, again?


This is a recipe I found on Pinterest (actually, that’s where I find a lot of my new recipes). It is an easy-to-make, one skillet dish that makes for a tasty meal and easy clean up.  
It’s actually very similar to a recipe my mother-in-law gave me called “Impossible Cheeseburger Pie.” Her recipe is good, but I kinda like this one better because of the cornbread. We Southerners really like our cornbread. 🙂  And none of that sweet stuff some people try to pass off as cornbread. If I wanted something sweet I’d rather eat cake. Funfetti cake. With pink Funfetti frosting. 

[FYI: Funfetti cake is the best box cake ever. Very few homemade cakes I’ve tried can top it. My wedding cake was even made from Funfetti cake mix! And pink Funfetti frosting is way better than regular white Funfetti frosting, but sadly Pillsbury doesn’t make it anymore.]


fiesta taco skillet2  I  frozen pizza, again?

Fiesta Taco Skillet
from the kitchen of: Carnation Milks

Prep Time: 45 mins – 1 hour
Servings: 4

Ingredients
1 lb. ground beef
1 can (11 oz.) Mexican-style corn, drained
2/3 cup water
1 packet taco seasoning mix / 2 tbsp homemade taco seasoning
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
3/4 cup corn meal
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar (optional)
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup evaporated milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten

Directions
Preheat oven to 400° F.

Cook beef in well-greased 10-inch cast-iron skillet over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Stir in corn, water and seasoning mix. Cook over low heat for 6 to 8 minutes or until mixture thickens. Top with cheese.

Combine corn meal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl. Combine evaporated milk and egg in small bowl; mix well. Add milk mixture to corn meal mixture; stir just until blended. Spread over top of meat-cheese mixture.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Notes

  • If you don’t have a cast iron skillet cook the meat in a regular skillet and then transfer it to a deep pie dish before adding the rest of the ingredients. I made this dish that way several times before I got my cast iron skillet as a Christmas present.
  • If you use homemade taco seasoning instead of store-bought packet, you will need to add 1-2 tbsp of flour as well to thicken the meat mixture.
  • You can substitute equal parts regular milk for the evaporated milk. The corn bread will taste just fine whichever one you use; I’ve tried it both ways and can’t taste any difference.

Fun Fact
My chiropractor told me that cooking in a cast iron skillet is a great way to add extra iron to your diet.


-♥-  
Katy

 

comments!

