white chicken enchiladas

Standard

white chicken enchiladas  I  frozen pizza, again?

This is one of the first recipes I tried after joining Pinterest over a year ago. It is an easy recipe with big results. I have made it several times since then and always receive compliments.
 
white chicken enchiladas  I  frozen pizza, again?

(This photo shows the sauce really well. Look at all those yummy green chilis!)


The original recipe is pretty tasty, but I wasn’t quite satisfied with it. So I experimented several times, adding various spices, and finally stumbled upon my favorite version when we had company over for dinner a few weeks ago. Instead of adding spices to the sauce, I added peppers and onions to the filling and substituted pepper jack for monterey jack. They both really helped fill out the flavor of the dish.


white chicken enchiladas  I  frozen pizza, again?

White Chicken Enchiladas
adapted from the kitchen of: Joyful Momma’s Kitchen

Prep Time: 1 hour
Servings: 3-5

Ingredients
10 flour tortillas
2 cups chicken, cooked and shredded
2 ½ cups (or an 8 oz block) pepper jack cheese, shredded
1 (1 lb) bag frozen pepper stir fry, thawed (I only used about ¾ of the bag)
3 tbsp butter
3 tbsp flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup sour cream
1 (4 oz) can green chilis

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a 9×13 casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray; set aside.

Combine chicken, pepper stir fry, and 1 ½ cups of cheese in a medium bowl. Roll the mixture in tortillas and place in casserole dish. (I suggest being conservative when filling the tortillas to make sure each gets enough. Then if you have any leftover you can add it to the least filled tortillas.)

In a sauce pan over medium heat, melt butter, whisk in flour, and cook 1 minute. Add broth and whisk until smooth. Continue heating the mixture until thick and bubbly, stirring often to prevent burning.

Stir in sour cream and chilis. Do NOT bring to a boil (no curdled sour cream).

Pour sauce over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese. (After I pour the sauce on the enchiladas I spoon some of it over any parts of the tortilla that do not have sauce of them, usually the ends. This helps the tortillas not dry out in the oven.)

Bake approximately 20-22 minutes, and then under high broil for 3 minutes to brown cheese.

(Side Note: If you are baking something else after this do not forget to turn the oven back to bake after the enchiladas are done. That is how I ruined the dessert for the evening.)

Notes

  • The green chilis in the sauce do not make the sauce spicy at all; they only add flavor.
  • Pepper Jack cheese is spicy; however, when I used it in this dish I did not detect any spice/heat at all. I think the sour cream balances out the heat. (If it helps, I am a mild to medium heat kind of girl.)
  • In case your store doesn’t carry “pepper stir fry” all it consists of is red bell pepper, green bell pepper, and onion.


-♥-
Katy
 

One response »

comments!

