parmesan pork roast

Standard

Two weeks since my last post! Yikes! We had family in town last week, so that and other things kept me from posting about my latest domestic experiments. But I tried something new in the kitchen during my absence, and not just a new recipe, a new skill – baking bread! Super proud of myself for that one! (Also super proud of my co-baker, who just happens to be my brother’s fiancée, Sharon!)

But until I have that recipe typed up, please enjoy this yummy recipe for pork roast in a slow cooker. [That recipe can be found here.] I served this with a side of potatoes, and the gravy was awesome on both the pork and the potatoes!

 

parmesan pork roast  I  frozen pizza, again?

The potatoes are supposed to look smashed up like that. You can find that recipe here.
 

I also discovered during my absence from the blogosphere that my blog has a way cooler regular font than I originally thought. You see, I thought it used Arial, which is okay but sometimes hard to read. I downloaded a new font, Helvetica Neue, and suddenly my blog is no longer using Arial! Score! If you are reading this post in Arial you should download Helvetica Neue and experience this way cooler font with me. 🙂

 
parmesan pork roast  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Parmesan Pork Roast
From the kitchen of: It’s a Keeper

Prep Time: 10 mins + 5 ½ hours
Servings: 8-10

Ingredients
1 (4-5 lb) whole, boneless pork loin roast
⅔ cup grated Parmesan cheese
½ cup honey {Check out my tip on how to easily measure out honey}
3 Tbsp soy sauce
2 Tbsp dried basil (I only used 1.5 tbsp basil to prevent it from being overpowering)
2 Tbsp minced garlic (I used garlic powder)
2 Tbsp olive oil
½ tsp salt
2 Tbsp cornstarch
¼ cup cold water

Instructions
Cut roast in half. Transfer to a slow cooker. (The original recipe called for a 3 qt slow cooker, but a 5 lb roast fit perfectly in my 5 qt slow cooker.)

In a small bowl combine the cheese, honey, soy sauce, basil, garlic, oil, and salt (the sauce will be thick); pour over pork. Cover and cook on low for 5 ½ to 6 hours or until a meat thermometer reads 160°.

Remove meat to a serving platter, and keep warm.

Skim fat from cooking juices, then transfer juices to a medium saucepan. Bring liquid to a boil.

Combine cornstarch and water until smooth. Gradually stir into cooking juices. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.

Slice roast, and serve with gravy.

Kitchen Tip
I suggest either using a slow cooker liner or spraying the crock with non-stick cooking spray to make clean-up easier. If you use a liner: after you remove the meat and skim off the fat, lift the liner out of the crock, snip off a corner, and empty the juice straight into a saucepan. Way faster than ladling the juice from the crock to a saucepan!

 
*UPDATE 6/9/13* I froze half of the roast and half the gravy for a later meal. To reheat I placed both items into my slow cooker still frozen and set the heat on low. They were thawed after a couple of hours, so I stirred the gravy and spooned it on top of the roast to keep it from drying out. I left them in the slow cooker on warm until dinnertime.

 

-♥-Katy

 

7 responses »

  1. I am excited to find your blog. I love reading recipes and thinking about cooking. I have a way to go, though, in actually following through on any effort that is more complicated than popping a frozen dinner into the microwave.

    • We eat frozen meals more often in our house than I would like to admit, but frozen meals are better than Ramen any day. All of the recipes I’ve posted so far are pretty easy, so I encourage you to try one! This pork roast is especially easy since you just throw everything in a slow cooker. 🙂

comments!

