cheesy zucchini rice

Standard

cheesy zucchini rice  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Zucchini is a relatively new vegetable to me.* It’s not that I didn’t like it until now; my family just never ate zucchini when I was growing up and, therefore, I didn’t have any recipes using zucchini. Thanks to Pinterest and some awesome food blogs I am slowly collecting recipes that use zucchini. This is one of my favorite zucchini recipes that I have found so far. (Not to be confused with Cheesy Zucchini and Rice Casserole, which is also tasty.)

 
cheesy zucchini rice  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Cheesy Zucchini Rice
From the Kitchen of: Buns in My Oven

Prep Time: 30 minutes
Servings: 4-6
Difficulty: Easy

{Ingredients}
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 cup long-grain white rice
2 cups chicken broth
2 Tbsp butter
1 medium or 2 small zucchini, shredded (you can use a food processor or cheese grater)
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar
½ tsp garlic powder
salt and pepper, to taste
splash of milk, as needed

{Instructions}
Heat olive oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat. Add rice and stir to coat. Toast rice, stirring often, just until it starts to turn golden.

Pour in chicken broth and bring to a boil. Once boiling turn heat to low and cover. Cook for 15 – 20 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed.

Remove from heat and add butter, zucchini, cheddar, and garlic powder. Stir until well incorporated. Cover and let sit for 5 minutes.

Stir again and add salt and pepper, to taste, and a splash of milk until the rice is your preferred consistency. (Adding milk is completely optional; I don’t usually add any at all.)

{Notes}
I have tried this recipe with and without the garlic powder; though both are good I actually prefer to omit the garlic.

{Fun Fact}
*Is zucchini actually a vegetable?

“In a culinary context, the zucchini is treated as a vegetable, which means it is usually cooked and presented as a savory dish or accompaniment. Botanically, however, the zucchini is an immature fruit, being the swollen ovary of the zucchini flower.” – Wikipedia

 


-♥-
Katy

 

2 responses »

comments!

