cheesy italian quick bread

Standard

cheesy italian quick bread  I frozen pizza, again?

 
This bread is the reason that I requested a pastry blender for Christmas this past year. I had no idea that pastry blenders existed until I saw that this recipe required one. The first time I made the recipe I tried using the 2 forks/knives method to cut in the butter, but it was just time-consuming and frustrating. I briefly researched pastry blenders and discovered that they are a very useful kitchen tool and fairly inexpensive – under $20! I have used the pastry blender a few times since I received it, and it just makes baking bread so much easier!

 
cheesy italian quick bread  I frozen pizza, again?

 
Cheesy Italian Quick Bread
From the Kitchen of: Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life

Prep Time: 30 – 40 minutes
Servings: 8+ (depends on how generous your slices are!)
Difficulty: Easy

{Ingredients}
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup reduced-fat mozzarella cheese, shredded and divided
1 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp Italian seasoning
½ tsp basil
½ tsp oregano
3 Tbsp cold butter
1 egg
½ cup plain Greek yogurt (I used a 5.3 oz individual serving)
½ cup milk
spray butter, an extra Tbsp butter, or garlic spray (optional)

{Instructions}
Preheat oven to 400° F. Spray a 9-inch round baking pan with non-stick cooking spray; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the first 10 ingredients – flour through oregano – and mix well. Cut in cold butter with a pastry blender (or two knives/forks) until mixture looks like fine crumbs.

Kitchen Tip: If you are new to bread baking like I am and have no idea how to cut in butter, here are some handy videos showing three different ways to cut butter into flour: pastry blender method, 2 knives method, 2 forks method.

Also, you may be wondering “how will I know when the butter is completely cut-in?” Like the instructions say, the mixture is done when it looks like fine crumbs. I tried to take a picture of my crumbs, but they wouldn’t photograph well. Just trust me that it will make sense when you make the bread; the mixture really will look like fine crumbs.

In a small bowl, whisk together egg, Greek yogurt, and milk. Stir into dry ingredients until just moistened – do not over mix! If your dough is still a little dry, add a splash of milk. (NOTE: Dough will be thick and soft – similar to Bisquick drop biscuit dough.)

Spoon into prepared baking pan and spread dough to edges of pan. Top with remaining
¼ cup cheese and extra butter, if desired. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool slightly before serving. Enjoy!

{Notes}

  • Sometimes I like to double the seasonings (garlic, Italian, basil, and oregano) to pump up the flavor of the bread.
  • If you use extra butter on top of bread, the cheese will crisp up and add a nice contrast to the soft bread.

 


-♥-
Katy

 

comments!

