roasted zucchini and carrots

Standard

pork chops by marcia  I  frozen pizza, again?

You’ve seen this pork chop before! Find the recipe for it here.

 
This recipe isn’t really a recipe but more of a new cooking method – roasting. I wasn’t completely unfamiliar with the idea of roasting food, but I just didn’t know how to do it myself. Thanks to this recipe now I do. It’s a pretty simple concept actually and produces great results.

Russell and I decided that this is now our favorite way to eat carrots. Sadly, I have tried roasting zucchini twice since I discovered this recipe, but both times it turned out bland and soggy. If anyone has any helpful hints on how to season zucchini to keep it from being bland, I’d love to hear them.

Also, this recipe isn’t restricted to just zucchini and carrots – try other veggies like bell peppers, cauliflower, or even green beans, or try non-veggies like sweet potatoes.

 
roasted zucchini and carrots  I  frozen pizza, again?
 
Roasted Zucchini and Carrots
From the Kitchen of: Voracious Vander

Prep Time: 30 mins
Servings: however many you want to serve
Difficulty: Easy

{Ingredients}
whole zucchini
whole carrots
olive oil
seasoning(s) of choice

{Instructions}

Preheat oven to 425° F/ 220° C. Line a baking tray with parchment/baking paper and a light layer of olive oil. Set aside.

Cut zucchini and carrots into 3 inch/8 cm sticks, making sure they are even in thickness. Place veggie batons into a bowl (preferably one with a flat bottom). Add a little olive oil (start with 1 Tbsp and add more if needed but not too much) and seasoning of choice, then lightly toss veggie batons to coat. I took the lazy smart option requiring less dishes to wash and just shook the bowl to coat the veggies.

Note about seasoning options: Keep it simple with salt & pepper or try other spices, such as paprika, cumin, rosemary, sage, or crushed red pepper. You could even try spice blends like Italian, Mexican, or Old Bay.

Spread out veggie batons on prepared baking tray and roast about 20 minutes, tossing halfway through, or until golden and slightly browned on the edges.

 


-♥-
Katy

 

 
 
If you liked this recipe, you might also be interested in:

parmesan pork roast  I  frozen pizza, again? cheesy zucchini and rice casserole  I  frozen pizza, again? cream cheese corn  I  frozen pizza, again?
Parmesan Pork Roast // Cheesy Zucchini and Rice Casserole // Cream Cheese Corn

2 responses »

  1. Hi I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just
    like to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

comments!

