cheesy chicken ro-tel dip

Standard

cheesy chicken ro-tel dip  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
For my 50th blog post I am sharing with you the first recipe I created as a new Domestic Engineer (thanks to my friend Beth for the awesome job title!). I say first recipe, but now that I think about it, this is really the only recipe that I have created completely on my own so far. I should work on that.

 
Here’s the story behind the dish:
This dip was created purely by accident. A few months after we moved here some fellow pastors’ wives and I got together for a Girls’ Night In. We were each supposed to bring a finger food, and I decided to take the opportunity to make a dip I had been wanting to try out.

The night of the party I go to make the dip only to discover that I don’t have everything I need, so I begin to freak out. (Not one of my finer moments.) Not only does it look like I can’t bring a dish like I promised, but I would also be making a bad impression on my new friends! Russell hears me freaking out and comes to see what’s going on. He helps me calm down enough to gather my thoughts and to think about what I can bring instead. Thinking through what is in my kitchen I somehow come up with the idea that these 4 ingredients would taste good together.

So I literally dump them all into a baking dish, finish getting ready, and run out the door; I didn’t even have time to heat up the dip because I was running late, but my friend let me heat it up in her oven when I got to her house. Thankfully the story has a happy ending as my friends all raved about the dip and made me promise to make it the next time we got together.

 
cheesy chicken ro-tel dip  I  frozen pizza, again?

Thanks to my friend Teri for being a hand model!

 
Cheesy Chicken Ro-Tel Dip
From the Kitchen of: Frozen Pizza, Again? (technically pre-FPA)

Prep Time: 25-35 mins
Servings: a lot!
Difficulty: Super Easy

{Ingredients}
1 (16 oz) block 2% milk Velveeta cheese, cubed
1 (8 oz) block reduced-fat cream cheese, cubed
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
2 cans Ro-Tel, drained
tortilla chips

{Instructions}
Combine all ingredients in a 2 ½ quart baking dish that has been coated with non-stick cooking spray. Bake at 350°F until cheese is melted and everything is heated, about 20-30 minutes, stirring halfway through. Serve warm with tortilla chips.
 


-♥-
Katy

 

Linking up to: Tasteful Tuesdays, Saturday Show & Tell, and Monday Funday.

 
 
If you liked this recipe, you might also be interested in:

chicken rotel pasta  I  frozen pizza, again? sausage cheese crescent squares  I  frozen pizza, again? pita bread  I  frozen pizza, again?

Chicken Ro-Tel Pasta // Sausage Cheese Crescent Squares // Pita Bread

comments!

