homemade taco seasoning mix

Standard

homemade taco seasoning mix  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Did you know that there is an alternative to using a store-bought packet of taco seasoning mix for making tacos? I hadn’t really thought about it until I came across this recipe for homemade taco seasoning mix. Growing up, my family used a lot of prepackaged, store-bought food items so I didn’t give much thought to the fact that before there were stores like Walmart or Publix people had to make almost everything on their own.

[Let me say this: There is absolutely nothing wrong with using all store-bought items to feed your family. Do not let anyone shame you for taking care of your family the best way you can, even if that means you never bake a loaf of bread from scratch. Like I said, I grew up on a lot of prepackaged meals (heck, I still like mac and cheese from the blue box) and I think I turned out just fine.]

If you have the time, though, you should really try this homemade taco seasoning. It’s super easy and quick to make, and you probably have a lot of the spices in your pantry already, unless you are still building your pantry staples like I am. If you do fit in the latter group, don’t be afraid to buy so many spices for one recipe because you will find a lot of other uses for them.

 
homemade taco seasoning  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Taco Seasoning Mix
From the Kitchen of: Bill Echols on allrecipes.com

Prep Time: 1 min
Servings: about 1 oz
Difficulty: Super Easy

{Ingredients}
1 Tbsp chili powder
¼ tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp onion powder
¼ tsp crushed red pepper flakes
¼ tsp dried oregano
½ tsp paprika
1 ½ tsp cumin
1 tsp sea salt (I used regular table salt and halved the amount)
1 tsp black pepper

{Instructions}
Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl. Store in an airtight container. Substitute 2 Tbsp homemade taco seasoning for 1 packet taco seasoning mix.

{Notes}

  • The heat level of this seasoning is mild.
  • You may need to add 1 Tbsp cornstarch or 1-2 Tbsp flour along with seasoning mix to thicken up sauces.
  • This recipe easily multiplies so you can make a lot and store it for future use.

 


-♥-
Katy

 

 
 
If you liked this recipe, you might also be interested in:

soft bread crumbs  I  frozen pizza, again? fiesta taco skillet1  I  frozen pizza, again? seven layer cookies  I  frozen pizza, again?
Homemade Soft Bread Crumbs // Fiesta Taco Skillet // Seven Layer Cookies

comments!

