homemade soft bread crumbs [with tutorial]

Standard

soft bread crumbs  I  frozen pizza, again?

If you click to enlarge the image, you can see the texture of the crumbs well.

 
I had never heard of soft bread crumbs until I came across a recipe that called for them. So first I figured out the difference between soft and dry bread crumbs. Here’s what I learned thanks to Wikipedia: “Dry breadcrumbs are made from dry breads which have been baked or toasted to remove most remaining moisture, and may even have a sandy or even powdery texture. […] The breads used to make soft or fresh bread crumbs are not quite as dry, so the crumbs are larger and produce a softer coating, crust, or stuffing.”

Then I discovered how easy it is to make your own soft bread crumbs; so that’s what I did. I even took pictures along the way to share with you! Come back tomorrow for the tasty recipe that required me to learn this new skill! (That recipe can be found here.)

 
What you’ll need: slices of fresh bread and a blender or food processor
soft bread crumbs  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Tear several slices of fresh bread into 1 inch pieces. (I even used a couple of slices that were starting to go stale.)
soft bread crumbs  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Place pieces into a food processor or blender. (The blender isn’t very full; it’s just above the bottom mark on the pitcher, even though it’s hard to see that in this photo.)
soft bread crumbs  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Cover and pulse several times to make coarse crumbs.
soft bread crumbs  I  frozen pizza, again?

 
Homemade Soft Bread Crumbs
From the Kitchen of: Taste of Home

Prep Time: 2 mins
Servings: 1 slice of bread = about ½ cup crumbs
Difficulty: Easy

{Ingredients}
slices of fresh bread – white, wheat, or French
blender or food processor

{Instructions}
Tear several slices of fresh bread into 1 inch pieces. (I even used a couple of slices that were starting to go stale.)

Place pieces in a food processor or blender. Cover and pulse several times to make coarse crumbs. Use immediately.

{Notes}

  • If using a blender, do not overfill it. You should put enough torn pieces in the blender to cover the blades but not so many that the blades can’t reach the top pieces to chop them up. I filled mine somewhere between the 1-2 cup or ¼ – ½ liter mark.
  • Some websites have said that you can store soft bread crumbs in the freezer for later use, but I have not personally tried this.

 


-♥-
Katy

 

 
 
If you liked this recipe, you might also be interested in:

homemade taco seasoning  I  frozen pizza, again? cheesy italian quick bread  I  frozen pizza, again? cheddar bay biscuits  I  frozen pizza, again?
Taco Seasoning Mix // Cheesy Italian Quick Bread // Cheddar Bay Biscuits

comments!

